Waiting (The Day Before Pentecost)

On this day in history the disciples were waiting. They weren’t going out speaking, they weren’t “doing church” they were waiting on Jesus. And by waiting on Jesus they were obeying his commands; for he told them to wait until they received power from on high. Tomorrow is when they were filled with the Holy Spirit but today they were praying. As I reflect on today I wonder if I pray like I depend on it, like my very life depends on it, like every fiber of my being depends on Jesus? Do I wait on God or do I bulldoze my own agenda “for God”? I always like to be moving forward, to be doing something, but today I’m reminded that sometimes it’s God’s will for us to wait and pray to him with everything we got. For when we pray he answers!

Leave a Reply

