Star Wars: Aftermath

The main narrative of Star Wars: Aftermath by Chuck Wendig was thrilling and exciting. Before the announcement of Star Wars VII: The Force Awakens, I had never read any of the Expanded Universe books; but a story of a broken Empire and a budding New Republic was very interesting to me. I was so excited for this book (and the overall trilogy of books, for which this is the first). The book didn’t let me down, but it didn’t perform how I thought either.

Like I said before the main narrative was thrilling. It grouped 5 people/aliens/droids together to form an unlikely team against a secret meeting held by top ranking officers in the Empire, who are trying to figure out how to move forward in the wake of the death of the Emperor. The group of 5 where all likable and had you rooting for them; even though some of their actions made you very frustrated (I’m looking at you Temmin). Even if someone’s actions made your shake your head you could understand their reasoning behind it.

There are SO MANY characters in this book, especially when you take into account the interludes, which I will touch on below.  This is both fantastic and horrible. Since I want to keep the review brief I won’t go into everyone that is mentioned, but in the Main Narrative Wendig does an amazing job balancing the characters and who to showcase when. He also includes some fan favorites and handles them very nicely.

My favorite part of the books were the strategy. Both sides trying to figure out how to move forward in the wake of the Rebel victory. I loved how they were trying to plan their moves and make their strategies, both sides thinking how the other will react.

My only complaint with the book are those Interludes between the main narrative. The interlude isn’t one narrative, but many, covering many locations and characters, many of whom we only see once. It was good having the more interesting and fan pleasing interludes towards the end, but it got tiring having a break from the main narrative so many times. If the narratives were kept in a block then it would have kept the pace of the main narrative much better.

Overall, though, the book was a great read, and only increased my thirst for new Star Wars stuff. If your a Star Wars fan this book is a must read.

Leave a Reply

