My New Favorite Acronym: EMOM

So last night I had pizza. Usually when we decide to order some of those Delicious pies, its an huge pig out on my part, an eating frenzy that would making animal planet proud. I’m talking half a pizza, breadsticks, and desert. A size of meal that would feed a reasonable person a couple of meals.

Last night, though, I only had a quarter of a pizza, two slices (feta cheese, pineapple and pepperoni! Hmmmm Delicious!). Okay so I had half of the breadsticks, but I didn’t have any desert! So I call it a win in terms of eating less. Also, after letting the food settle, I didn’t feel hungry at all. I wasn’t stuffed nor starving, but just right.

I decided last night semi-healthy decision was enough momentum and motivation to get back to working out. I haven’t worked out for about two weeks, so I knew I wasn’t going to be at the top of my game. Also I knew I wouldn’t have enough time to go to the gym or exercise at home tonight, plus I had to run some errands during lunch, so I had a very limited time window. I have been reading a bunch of exercise tips and tricks on Men’s Health, and one that stood out in particular was EMOM, which stands for Every Minute On the Minute. Basically you start your reps at the top of the minute, do your set amount of reps, and the rest for the remainder of the minute, and once the new minute rolls around, start again. The point is to do enough reps as you can without having to sacrifice form or the amount of time, also do enough to go through the minute with a little time left over to rest. I figured with my limited time window, trying a 10 minute session of EMOM would work.

Here was my set:

  1. 6 burpees
  2. 6 burpees
  3. 5 push ups (with a five second hold at the bottom)
  4. 5 push ups (with a five second hold)
  5. 30 seconds of  jump squats
  6. 30 seconds of jump squats
  7. 5 burpees
  8. 4 push ups (with a four second hold)
  9. 20 seconds jump squats

It was only 9 minutes, but I was more tired then I am after a 1.5 mile run on the treadmill. I think 9 minutes is worth the sacrifice to get that type of response. Plus as time grows I can increase my amount of time plus the amount of reps per minute, then add other pieces to the regiment. Another plus is having an exercise that your excited about is way better then having to force yourself to work out.

Happy sweating everybody!

Leave a Reply

